Overview
GTA VI’s vehicle loop splits into two developer-described layers: how you steal a car, and how you keep one. This guide covers both, using Rob Nelson’s Famitsu and IGN interview comments and Rockstar edition marketing only where it names specific garages. Launch remains November 19, 2026 on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. No PC release is claimed here.
Site pages Vehicle Theft and Personal Vehicles & Garages hold the mechanic detail. Named edition garages—Paradise Garage and Shore Court Garage—are package benefits, not proof that every map garage is listed for purchase at launch.
Vehicle theft: scan, tools, alarms, resale
Developer comments indicate you can no longer press a single button to steal every parked car. Players can scan a vehicle to check model/value and the cost to register it at Pay & Spray. Some cars open with lock-picking tools; others need a key cloner obtained later. Not every parked car is accessible at the start.
Luxury and newer cars are more likely to have alarms and sophisticated trackers. Breaking a window can trigger an alarm. Driving slowly with a tracker can reveal location to police—tying theft directly into the Wanted & Heat System. Some stolen cars cannot be sold immediately; fences who can remove trackers appear later. Damage reduces sale value. After selling at one Pay & Spray, that location cannot take another sale for a while.
Nelson said a vehicle fence named Randy can request specific cars. Some story or friend locations are protected: he said you cannot steal cars outside Dre'Quan’s club. Occupied cars can still be carjacked. In the IGN interview he described a phone scanner that surfaces lock, alarm, tracker, sale value, and whether a key cloner or Slim Jim is needed. IGN’s HQ demo recap reported an on-screen app label glimpsed as “Waink”; that branding is press observation, not treated here as a Rockstar-printed product name.
Theft is therefore a progression system: tools, contacts, and risk scale with vehicle tier. Personal ownership is a separate registration step.
Personal vehicles, early storage, and delivery
Nelson distinguished registered personal vehicles from temporary stolen cars, comparing garage swapping to managing horses in Red Dead Redemption 2. Stolen cars can be registered as the player’s own, but early on storage space is limited to three vehicles. Additional garages can be purchased around the map to own more. If all slots are full, a stored car must be sold to make space for a new personal vehicle.
Personal vehicles can store the player’s weapons—connecting ownership to Weapon Carrying & Storage. Temporary stolen vehicles show as grey radar icons, remain for a while, and disappear on game restart; they are not owned. Nelson named Scooter Bros as an app that delivers the player’s car, so long-gun storage in a personal vehicle is not stranded when the player is elsewhere.
Pay & Spray is involved in checking registration cost, repairs, and simple repaints. Elaborate paint needs a tuning shop. Whether Jason and Lucia share a single garage pool or maintain separate slots was not specified in the Famitsu interview.
Edition and pre-order garages versus map purchases
Purchasable additional garages are developer-confirmed system behavior. Separately, Rockstar marketing names two personal garages as edition or pack benefits:
- Paradise Garage — Ultimate Edition benefit in Watson Bay, paired in copy with the ’67 Vapid Dominator Buggy. Official framing includes a weapon locker and a secure place to deposit stolen goods for fencing.
- Shore Court Garage — Vintage Vice City Pack / pre-order benefit near Ocean Beach, packaged with the ’55 Vapid Stanier. Rockstar Support lists the benefit as the ’55 Vapid Stanier Sedan and Garage; marketing supplies the Shore Court Garage place name. The same weapon-locker and stolen-goods deposit framing appears in pack materials.
Neither Paradise Garage nor Shore Court Garage is Standard Edition content. They are not evidence that houses are sold as classic apartment listings, and they should not be conflated with Ammu-Nation lockers or temporary trunk storage without separate evidence. See also the properties guide and Safehouses.
Model pages such as ’67 Vapid Dominator Buggy and ’55 Vapid Stanier record printed names only; they do not invent handling stats or traffic-spawn rates.
Weapons in trunks and the wider map
Long guns are no longer treated as invisible inventory. Nelson said they must be managed at Ammu-Nation lockers (present in every Ammu-Nation) or stored in a personal vehicle. Guns can also go in the trunk of any car—including a stolen one—for as long as that vehicle remains available. Owned guns remain stored in a personal vehicle trunk or the Ammu-Nation armory, so discarding a gun during an escape does not permanently delete owned weapons.
That carrying rule makes personal garage access and Scooter Bros delivery part of fugitive play, not cosmetic storage. Visible guns also change NPC Reactions and can feed Heat descriptions when a weapon is reported.
What we still don't know
- A full public map of purchasable garages and later-game capacities is not available.
- Exact tracker rules (speed thresholds, duration) and a complete list of theft tools or vehicle tiers are not documented.
- Whether Jason and Lucia share one garage inventory remains unspecified in audited interviews.
- Numeric slot counts for Paradise Garage and Shore Court Garage are not printed in audited edition copy.
- The on-screen scanner app name remains press-reported, not independently printed by Rockstar in first-party copy reviewed for Phase 14.
- How edition garages interact with the early three-slot cap after registration is not stated in the sources used here.
